Los Angeles Multiple DUI Lawyers Helping Clients Facing Multiple Drunk Driving Charges
When it comes to drunk driving, as DUI enhancement lawyers in California, we know that state law does everything in its power to keep its roads and citizens safe. Because of the horrible tragedies that can follow drunk driving, each case is an opportunity to enforce DUI laws further, especially if the defendant has already had a DUI in the past. T
Attorneys Representing Clients Who Have Been Arrested For A DUI More Than Once
In fact, the found average is that a convicted drunk driver has driven drunk 80 times before his or her first arrest. This further pushes the court’s narrative ahead to make an example out of every DUI driver, whether it’s their first offense or not.
When facing multiple DUI’s, we want to make sure our clients have the correct information to make sure they are well-prepared for the prosecution’s defense.
How Can a Lawyer Assist You with a First time DUI in California?
As much as state law wants to uphold severe consequences for drunk driving, the penalties handed down by courts for a first-time DUI in this state are not nearly as severe as those with multiple convictions. More specifically, the typical punishment for a first time DUI in California is usually as follows:
- 3 Years of summary probation
- Fines & penalties that may amount up to $2000
- Required attendance and completion of a 3-month alcohol recovery program
- Required one-day Mothers Against Drunk Driving (MADD) course (if it applies to your case)
What Happens If a Defendant is Facing a Second DUI Offense in California?
If it’s important that you have the right line of defense in court for a first time DUI offense, it’s definitely critical that you have a skilled DUI attorney when facing a second charge. Not only do you face the consequences that come after the typical DUI charge, but the court will apply enhancements to your sentence if convicted. Some of these DUI sentence enhancements include punishments such as:
- 3 to 5 years of summary probation
- Fines & penalties that can total up to $2000
- 96 hours 1 year in county jail (it is not uncommon for a 2nd time DUI offender to serve 45-90 days in county jail).
- Attendance and completion of an 18-30 month drug/alcohol program
- L.A. County judges are also likely to assign additional requirements to attend AA classes or participate in community service.
Third Time DUI Offenders Still Need an Aggressive Defense with the Help of a Skilled DUI Attorney
As you may have guessed, the punishments that follow a third DUI are even more intense than those before that. Because of the multiple DUI sentence enhancements that a court can apply, without a strong defense, you could face these types of consequences:
- 3 to 5 Years of summary probation
- Fines & penalties that can total $2800
- Minimum jail sentence of 120 days or more
- Completion of a 30 Month drug/alcohol program
- Installation of an Ignition Interlock Device (IID)
Are Multiple DUI’s Classified as a Felony?
There are multiple ways that a DUI can be classified as a felony in California, being:
- Your DUI accident injured another person or caused a death.
- You have 3 or more prior DUI convictions within a ten-year period.
- You have at least one prior DUI conviction.
As you can see, it is possible to be convicted of a felony depending on the details of your case. In order to avoid this harsh conviction that will follow you forever by staying on your record, it’s best to consult an attorney that can help you throughout your case.
By reaching out to legal authorities, like the attorneys here at Braden & Tucci, you are making the best decision that you possibly can in otherwise unfavorable circumstances. Our legal team would like to help you by scheduling your initial appointment to discuss your case. Your lawyer will be able to get to know you better, your needs and legal desires, and develop a plan to protect you and your rights in court.
Just give us a quick call at (213) 935-7550 or fill out the quick form on our website.